Anshvi
2 min readJan 6, 2024

As we bid farewell to the old year and welcome the new, the air feels charged with the promise of new beginnings, fresh starts, and self-improvement. The ubiquitous phrase "New Year, New Me" is plastered across social media, magazines, and conversations. It seems to imply that with the turn of the calendar, we suddenly become different people, shedding our old selves like a snake shedding its skin. But for many of us, reality is not so simple.
Almost every person is ready for ‘new year, new me’, I also used to do that but little did I realise that it is not about completely transforming myself in a day and meeting a whole changed person after a day.
The pressure to transform ourselves with the ringing in of the new year can be overwhelming. We are bombarded with messages urging us to set ambitious resolutions, make radical lifestyle changes, and reinvent ourselves entirely.
I also wrote my goals, but they were just about my peace, staying healthy and after all accepting me as I am.
Instead of aiming for an entirely new self, we can set intentions to build upon the foundation of our existing strengths, values, and experiences. This approach allows us to embrace our authentic selves and recognize the value of incremental changes and personal evolution.
So why not, just reflect on the achievements, the highs and the lows of last year and just let go of all the mistakes we’ve made and learn from them and slowly slowly start self- improvement.
Self improvement is not that you’re just being better and better day by day… It’s about giving at least 1 percent of improvement each day. I did all the work from my to-do list on the first day. On the second day I was not able to achieve 2 goals, instead of being demotivated by that, say that at least you completed other goals, at least there for some kind of improvement in you.
Lastly, the idea of "New Year, Not Really a New Me" encourages us to approach the new year with a sense of curiosity and openness. We can welcome new experiences, perspectives, and opportunities for learning without feeling pressured to alter our fundamental identities. This mindset allows us to embrace the unknown with a spirit of resilience and adaptability, knowing that our capacity for growth is rooted in the richness of our diverse experiences
. So, here’s to the new year, but not really a new me—a celebration of authenticity, resilience, and the beautifully imperfect journey of personal growth.

I’d always love a feedback, you can reach out to me on my socials:
Instagram - @anshvi.writes
Email- anshvi1907@gmail.com

Anshvi

This is a safe place to be who you are. If you wish to connect with me, drop me a mail at anshvi1907@gmail.com. Let's keep going and growing together 🤍.